NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON PERCUSSION PEDAGOGY

MAY 20 - 22, 2012

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY ALAN SHINN & LISA ROGERS, HOSTS

Board of Advisors

Lance Drege - University of Oklahoma
Dennis Fisher - University of North Texas
Laura Franklin - Brevard College
David Long - University of Mary Washington
Cort McClaren - Conference Director
William Rice - James Madison University
Lisa Rogers - Texas Tech University
Joseph Shively - Oakland University

NCPP WEB SITE: WWW.PERCUSSIONPEDAGOGY.COM

Schedule

Sunday, May 20, 2012

6:30 pm Registration/Greetings

Hemmle Recital Hall Foyer

7:00 pm

Texas Tech Percussion Ensemble

Hemmle Recital Hall

Alan Shinn – Conductor Lisa Rogers - Conductor

Program

Sosso-Bala

Emmanuel Séjourné

Dance Barbaro

Phillip Lambro

Song for the Mountain Stream

arr. Hung chien-hui

Keeping Still

Kevin Purrone

The Cry

Nathan Daughtrey

Legend

Robert Kreutz

Strictly Genteel

Frank Zappa

arr. Mike Myers

Ensemble Personnel

Zac Barron Joey Bybee Corey Dolter Sarah Harris BJ Holmes Donald Lazuka James McDonald Erin Patterson Jim Bob Pendell

Zach Houston John Jones Adam Smith, piano Derrik Spiegel Joey Washburn

Alex Kang

Lee Willis

Anthony King

8:15 pm

Reception (Hosted by Texas Tech University) M01 Choir Room

8:45 pm

Welcome

M02 Band Hall

Keyboard Percussion Standards Standards Committee

Julia Gaines Keith Larson Chalon Ragsdale

Monday, May 21, 2012

9:00 am

Recording Percussion

M02 Band Hall

Dennis Fisher

10:00 am

Break

10:15 am

New Keyboard Sources

M01 Choir Room

Panel

Brett Jones Kathleen Kastner Kari Klier

Small Group Discussion

11:30 am

Keyboard Standards

Student Union Courtyard

12:15 pm

Lunch - On Your Own

1:15 pm	Master Classes	7:00 pm Pairs Concert	Hemmle Recital Hall
	Timpani – David Eyler, Clinician Hemmle Recital Hall Ben Finlayson, Coronado High School, Lubbock, TX Sonata for Timpani, Movement III by John H. Beck Corey Dolter, Texas Tech University	Shapeshifter Craig Hauschildt Luke Hubley	Dave Maric
	Improvisation by Elliott Carter Marimba – David Bessinger, Clinician M02 Band Hall Lars Lindgren, Frenship Middle School, Wolfforth, TX Etude in C Major, Op. 6 No. 10 by Clair Omar Musser Enid Hennen Van Treese, Southwestern OK State University Tambourin Paraphrase by Keiko Abe Brian Stackhouse, University of Oklahoma	Famicom Matt Altmire Chris Thompson	Chris Thompson
		An Extraordinary Correspondence Jennifer Elliott, flute Richard Elliott, marimba	Nathan Daughtrey
0.4	Rotation No. 2 by Eric Sammut	<i>Skylight</i> Julia Gaines Susan Martin Tariq	David Hall
2:15 pm 2:30 pm	Technology M01 Choir Room	Edge of the World Nathan Daughtrey Pete Zambito	Nathan Daughtrey
2.00 pm	Keith Dye Kurt Gartner	Like Blind Men Tapping in the Dark Jordan Drum Joseph Milea	Libby Larsen
3:40 pm	Listen, Imagine, Play Percussion Rebecca Kite M02 Band Hall	Fantasy for Alto Saxophone & Marimba I. Bitter Chill II. Sun on the Snow	Ching-Mei Lin
4:30 pm	Job Market for Percussion Graduates M01 Choir Room Panel Neil Larrivee	keith Talley David Bessinger	
	Bill Rice Joe Shively	Departures Anthony King 'ames McDonald	Emmanuel Séjourné
5:50 pm	Dinner - On Your Own	Liberty Bâr Kari Klier Sherry Rubins	James Balentine

After Concert Get Together (Jazz Kitchen 3703 C 19th Street)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

11:00 am

Break

Notes:

9:00 am Copyright for Educators/Performers M02 Band Hall Cort McClaren

9:45 am Break

10:00 am **Bribing Administrators – How to Get What You Need** M01 Choir Room

Panel
David Long – University of Mary Washington, Chair of the
Department of Music
Jeff Moore – University of Central Florida, Chair of the

Jeff Moore – University of Central Florida, Chair of the Department of Music Ann Stutes – Wayland Baptist University, Dean of the

inn Stutes – wayland Baptist University, Dean of the School of Music

Presenters

Josh Armstrong – Percussion, Delta State University Anthony King – Percussion, Texas Tech University Brian Tate – Percussion, South Plains College

11:15 am **Keyboard Standards-Final Draft** M01 Choir Room

Standards Committee MU1 Choir Ro

12:15 pm Wrap-Up/Surveys M01 Choir Room

12:30 pm LUNCH – NCPP Host M02 Band Hall

First To Register Award Foot-In-The-Mouth Award